The Recipe That Started It All

I have always loved to cook.  Even as a young girl I would be in the kitchen mixing up some jelly filled muffins to give to my parents as breakfast in bed (my Dad hated them – I was just way ahead of my time!)  During my mom’s VERY short stint as a sales person at Sears I was responsible for making sure I got dinner started after school.  The scalloped potatoes dinner has gone down in family history as the reason for my Mom’s short stint in retail.  To this day I cannot stand scalloped potatoes!

After I married I tried mixing some new dishes into the old standbys.  For the most part this was successful, tho my experience with Quiché Lorraine was a flop that lives on.  Word to the wise – never make a Quiché Lorraine with processed cheese and cheap bacon.  My only defense is that we were newlyweds and poor!

Then once we had kids the ‘new’ dishes included such things as fondue and crepes.  Most of the time there were a success – tho why my son thought we wouldn’t see broccoli in his milk glass still baffles me! And this from a kid who was a veteran eater of cold octopus salad by the time he was in second grade!

Around the mid 80’s our kids were a little older and I decided to get a bit more serious about my cooking.  So I subscribed to Cuisine magazine.  Anyone remember this magazine?  It was ultimately bought out by Gourmet.  The very first issue I received was April, 1984.  The issue had a section devoted to recipes using fresh asparagus.  One looked particularly good, Stir Fried Asparagus and Scallops.  Stir frying was not new in our family. George already had used his knowledge of Chinese cooking gleaned from the dad of his best friend in high school to prepare some fantastic stir fried meals.  We decided to try it out.

So here we are, 33 years later, and the recipe came to mind again.  Fortunately, the fish department at my grocery store had sea scallops – not always the case – and the asparagus had been abundant for several weeks.  So tonight we go back to the old days.  I can’t wait! And a crucial point about this recipe – you must have everything ready to go next to the stove when you begin.  This recipe comes together so fast that you don’t have time to prep between additions to the pan.

Stir-Fried Asparagus and Scallops    For 2

Ingredients for Scallops and Asparagus

  • 4 oz shitake mushrooms
  • 1/2 tbl soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbl. peanut oil
  • 1/2 tsp finely chopped pared ginger
  • 1/2 tsp finely chopped garlic
  • 1/2 lb sea scallops – about 1 inch in diameter
  • 1/2 lb asparagus, tough ends removed and sliced diagonally into 1 inch pieces
  • 6  radishes, rinsed, trimmed and quartered
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • sea salt

Cut mushrooms into 1/4 inch slices.  Combine the mushrooms, soy sauce, rice wine vinegar and lemon juice in a small bowl and set aside.

Heat a wok or large skillet over high heat until a drop of water evaporates on contact.  Add the peanut oil and heat until a bit of ginger sizzles when dropped into the oil.  Add the ginger and the garlic and stir fry 10 seconds, add the scallops and stir fry 2 minutes. Add the asparagus and stir fry until crisp-tender – about 2 minutes.  Add the radishes and stir fry two minutes.  Add the mushroom mixture and stir fry for about 30 seconds.  Add the sesame oil and toss to distribute.  Sprinkle lightly with sea salt.  Serve immediately.

The completed dish finished with a sprinkling of sea salt.

The completed dish finished with a sprinkling of sea salt.

Who says you can’t go back in time!

This entry was posted in Asian Food, Cooking, Family, fish, Food, Meatless Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

