Tater Tots?

While we had a full house this weekend; our guests were here for a seminar and had breakfast meetings.  This allowed me to use George as a guinea pig for a potential breakfast entrée.  Thankfully most of his “guinea pig” experiences have been good!  While I envision this dish as a breakfast item, it could also work as dinner with a salad during Lent.

The latest copy of Food and Wine magazine features an article about waffles. Ones made with tater tots!  After getting over my shock at seeing a recipe containing Tater Tots in Food and Wine I decided it might be worth a try.

The magazine provided a basic recipe and ideas for three different toppings – Truffled Egg, Smoked Salmon and Caviar, or Prosciutto and Mustard.   The Smoked Salmon version was especially appealing as I had just snapped up a 16 oz package of sliced smoked salmon on sale for a ridiculously low price and it was calling my name.   I already had some caviar – the inexpensive stuff, not the roe that comes from Sturgeon – in the pantry.  All I had to purchase were the tater tots.

All in all , it turned out pretty well.  I made a few tweaks and will have to make a few more before it is ready for prime time. My waffle maker is actually the waffle plates that go with my Cuisinart Griddle/Panini maker so my waffles come out as one big square that can be divided into four waffles.  Two of the small squares (one half the big waffle) were enough per person.   I also discovered I  will need to add more tater tots than the 2 cups the recipe called for to get the full coverage I hope to achieve.  I adjusted the quantity in the recipe below.  Be sure to take the desired quantity of tater tots out of the freezer the night before.  I didn’t do this so  I had to resort to defrosting them in the microwave.  That definitely impacted the finished product. While the look many not be quite there it tasted great and it is definitely worth the continued experimentation!

Tater Tot Waffle with Smoked Salmon, Sour Cream and Caviar

Tater Tot Waffles with Salmon and Caviar Serves 2

  • 3 1/2 cups thawed frozen tater tots – take them out of the freezer the night before if this is a breakfast dish.
  • Sea Salt
  • 6 slices of thinly sliced smoked salmon
  • 4 tbl of sour cream – divided
  • chopped fresh dill  – or dried if you can’t get fresh
  • 2 small spoonfuls caviar

Preheat the waffle iron to medium high.  Spray the waffle iron with Pam or substitute cooking spray.   Spread 3 cups of the tater tots on the waffle iron and season with sea salt.  Close the waffle iron and cook until the tater tots get crispy – about 5 minutes.  Open the waffle iron and fill in any holes with the extra tater tots.  Close the iron and continue to cook for 3 to 4 minutes more.

Remove the large waffle from the iron and, if you have a square waffle maker, divide in half.  Place one half on each plate.  Top with the salmon, sour cream and sprinkle with dill.  Add a small spoonful  of caviar to each waffle. I passed additional sour cream at the table.

Note on the Truffled Egg version.  The recipe indicates you should poach the egg and place it on top of the waffle.  The egg should be topped with shaved fresh Black Truffle.  This is a little too rich for my blood.  My room prices would have to jump significantly to cover the cost of that Black Truffle!

This entry was posted in American Food, appliances, Bed and Breakfast, Breakfast, Breakfast, Cooking, Family, fish, Food, Kitchen tools, Meatless Meals, Menus, Panini Grill/Griddle, Recipes, Salmon, Sandhill Crane Bed and Breakfast, Smoked Food, waffle maker and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

