And The Winner Is…..Cioppino

Cioppino Ingredients

In my blog last Friday I mentioned that the last Friday in Lent was almost upon us and I had so many dishes I still wanted to prepare/sample.  After careful consideration George and I decided that Cioppino was the dish to close out the Lenten fish season.  So tonight I will prepare Cioppino.

I first sampled  Cioppino in San Francisco.  One taste was all it took to make me a big fan.  This is really a fisherman’s dish, nothing fancy.  Basically fish cooked in tomato sauce.  I understand it originated on the wharves of San Francisco when the fishermen of Italian descent would throw all of their scraps into a pot of tomato sauce (aka gravy).  Don’t know how true that is but who cares, it tastes great.  So here’s my recipe for 2 people:

  • 3 lbs Roma tomatoes – chopped (we like our sauce chunky. You can make a finer sauce if you like.)
  • Olive Oil – to saute the onion and garlic
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 pinch oregano
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 pinch sage
  • 1 Tbl tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup water
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 king crab leg
  • 12 mussels
  • 12 raw shrimp, shelled and deveined
  • 4 sea scallops
  • 1/2 to 3/4 lb of firm flesh fish cut into chunks – a cod or snapper works well
  • Saute the onions and the garlic in olive oil until soft.  Add the herbs and allow to cook 5 minutes.  Add tomatoes, tomato paste, water, salt, pepper, and simmer for one hour.   Just before serving, add the seafood to the sauce and cook for about 5 minutes or until the mussels open.  Serve in bowls with french bread.  The sauce can be made ahead of time but it goes so fast you really don’t need to .  I serve this with the previously mentioned French bread and a nice Pinot Grigo – except for George who will drink Merlot.

Not a bad way to end meatless Friday’s!

This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food, International Cuisines, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.